Virat Kohli Nominated For The ICC Player of the Decade of Award. Rohit and MS Dhoni Also in the List

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is going to be hosting the Awards for the best players in the decade. The stand out cricketer has obviously been Virat Kohli who has been nominated in the best ODI cricketer category, Test Cricketer category and also the ICC spirit of the year award. In total, the skipper has been nominated for 5 awards. The biggest of them and the main spotlight is the ICC Player of the Decade. Other than Virat, Ravi Ashwin has been nominated for the award from India.

MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma

This era is rightfully known as the era of the ‘Fab Four’ as Steve Smith, Kane Williamson, Joe Root and Kohli have been named in the nominations list of 7 cricketers. The two others to be named in the list are former South Africa captain and legendary batsman AB de Villiers and another thorough legend, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

Here are the other categories:

ODI Player of the Decade: This category includes 3 Indians -Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni. Others are Lasith Malinga (SL), Mitchell Starc (AUS), AB de Villiers (SA), and Kumar Sangakkara (SL).

Test Player of the Decade: Virat Kohli, Joe Root, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, James Anderson (ENG), Rangana Herath (SL), and Yasir Shah (PAK) have been nominated for the Test Player of the Decade award.

Nominations for the Men’s T20I Player of the Decade include Rashid Khan (AFG), Kohli, Imran Tahir (SA), Aaron Finch (AUS), Malinga, Chris Gayle (WI), and Rohit Sharma (IND).

ICC Women’s Player of the Decade: Nominations include Ellyse Perry (AUS), Meg Lanning (AUS), Suzie Bates (NZ), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Mithali Raj (IND), Sarah Taylor (ENG).

For Women’s T20I Player of the Decade: Meg Lanning, Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Deandra Dottin, Alyssa Healy, and Anya Shrubsole have been nominated.

ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Decade: Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry, Mithali Raj, Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Stafanie Taylor (WI), and Jhulan Goswami (IND).

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade: Virat Kohli (IND), Kane Williamson (NZ), Brendon McCullum (NZ), Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK), MS Dhoni, Anya Shrubsole (ENG), Katherine Brunt (ENG), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), and Daniel Vettori (NZ) have been nominated.

All categories and nominations are uploaded on the official ICC website and the winners will be decided based on the number of votes a player receives.

About Gajanand Baheti 349 Articles
I am a big-time cricket fan and love to write about it. Other than writing and cricket, a good cup of coffee is what I enjoy the most!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply