IPL 2022 Format: MI & CSK in Different Groups, Each team will Play 14 Matches

IPL 2022

The Indian Premiere League is back and this time it has come with a brand new style and a format never seen before. The IPL 2022 format has divided the the franchises in 2 Groups. Each group has 5 teams now that the new franchises of Ahmedabad and Lucknow will also compete for the trophy.

All the teams will play 14 league-stage games in the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League. Each side will cross swords twice with five teams and once with four teams. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) came with the official announcement on Friday (February 25).

As revealed by the BCCI, the two groups were made based on a seeding system based on the number of IPL trophies won and the number of final appearances. Hence, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, five and four-time winners respectively, headlined the two sets. The two new franchises– Super Giants and Gujarat Titans – are also placed in two different groups.


IPL 2021, CSK vs MI

Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants are part of Group A. At the same time, Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans are placed in Group B.

IPL 2022 Format




IPL 2022 to Commence on 26th of March


It is confirmed that the IPL 2022 will be starting on 26th of march and the league stage will have 70 matches.

The league-stage will be followed by the 4 playoff matches. All franchises will play four matches each at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium. Each side will also play three games a side at the Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and MCA International Stadium in Pune.

About Gajanand Baheti 349 Articles
I am a big-time cricket fan and love to write about it. Other than writing and cricket, a good cup of coffee is what I enjoy the most!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply