BCCI Announce Indian Squad for T20 World Cup | BIG CHANGES MADE!

ICC t20 world cup 2021

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently announced the 15-man squad that would be travelling to UAE for the much awaited T20 World Cup. The selectors have made some notable changes in the squad and many new entrants will be there for their first ICC event.

The most important inclusion has been of Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin who has been selected in the team over the duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. Leg-spinner Varun Chakravarthy, who has impressed in the IPL, has also been chosen in the 15-member side, with Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar and Axar Patel making up the spin department.

India have been included in group B alongside arch-rivals Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan while two more teams will be added after the conclusion of the qualifying round. Mumbai Indians batsman Suryakumar Yadav has been included following his much-awaited international debut against England earlier this year and then his impressive show in Sri Lanka following that.



ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Full Squad

Squad:Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.


Standby players: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.


Shikhar Dhawan Dropped from the Squad

Shikhar Dhawan

The selection that has puzzled many is the non-selection of the Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan who recently captained the Indian team in their tour of Sri Lanka. Along with him, young batsman Prithvi Shaw has also been left out. Both of them play for Delhi Daredevils in the IPL.


India’s complete schedule ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

24th October 2021: India vs Pakistan, 7:30 PM IST, Dubai

31st October 2021: India vs New Zealand, 7:30 PM IST, Dubai

3rd November 2021: India vs Afghanistan, 7:30 PM IST, Abu Dhabi

5th November 2021: India vs B1 (qualified team), 7:30 PM IST, Dubai

8th November 2021: India vs A2 (qualified team), 7:30 PM IST, Dubai


About Gajanand Baheti 349 Articles
I am a big-time cricket fan and love to write about it. Other than writing and cricket, a good cup of coffee is what I enjoy the most!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply